Awards inspire. Great work inspires. Recognition in front of your peers inspires. Whether it’s the AAF Silver Medal Award, The Dateline Award, or an American Advertising Award, advertising professionals strive to be worthy of these honors because they recognize excellence in the art of advertising.



The American Advertising Awards is the advertising industry’s largest and most representative competition, attracting more than 40,000 entries every year in local AAA competitions. The mission of the AAA competition is to recognize and reward creative excellence in the art of advertising.

Conducted annually by the American Advertising Federation (AAF), the Fort Worth competition is the first of a three-tier national competition. Concurrently, all across the country, local entrants vie for recognition as the very best in their markets. At the second tier, local winners compete against other winners in one of 15 district competitions. District winners are then forwarded to the third tier, the national American Advertising Awards competition. Entry in a local competition is the first step toward winning a national American Advertising Award.

Entering the American Advertising Awards competition supports our entire industry, because the AAF and its local and district affiliates use the proceeds to enhance advertising through programs such as public service, internships, advocacy groups, advertising education, and consumer awareness. For 2021 entry information, visit

For the full list of 2019 American Advertising Award winners, visit

Selection of the most creative entries in each category is effected by a scoring process in which a panel of judges (creatives who are not from Texas, Oklahoma or Arkansas) evaluates all the creative dimensions of every entry. A Gold American Advertising Award is recognition of the highest level of creative excellence and is judged to be superior to all other entries in the competition. Entries that are also considered outstanding and worthy of recognition receive a Silver or Bronze American Advertising Award. The number of awards given in each category is determined by the judges, based on the relative quality of work in that category.

The American Advertising Student Awards is also a three-tier national competition, which is sponsored by the AAF and National Ad 2. Occurring in conjunction with the prestigious American Advertising Awards, the student competition recognizes and rewards creative excellence by students.



The American Advertising Federation’s Silver Medal Award Program was established in 1959 to recognize men and women who have made outstanding contributions to advertising and who have been active in furthering the industry’s standards, creative excellence, and responsibility in areas of social concern. Annually, AAF member clubs bestow this honor upon outstanding members of the local advertising community.

For many local clubs, awarding the AAF Silver Medal is the highlight of their year. It enhances the image of advertising by recognizing a locally well-known person for their advertising and community involvement.


Silver Medal recipients are selected by a panel of judges made up of past Silver Medal winners. Judges use the following criteria when making their selections:

  • Contribution to His or Her Company — The recipient must have achieved success in one of the following areas of work: advertising agency, advertiser, media, or advertising service.

  • Creative Ability — The recipient must have shown a consistent high degree of original thinking in their field.

  • Contributions to the General Advancement of Advertising — The recipient must have worked to increase the stature and raise the standards of the advertising profession.

  • Contributions to the Community — The recipient should be someone who has been active in civic, religious, or other groups dedicated to human or social welfare.

View Past Winners



Each year, the American Advertising Federation - Fort Worth recognizes an individual or organization that has brought positive publicity to Fort Worth or Tarrant County during the previous calendar year. Previous Dateline Award recipients include the North Texas Speedway, the Van Cliburn Competition, Downtown Fort Worth Inc., and Chef Tim Love.

In 2011, the club honored Touchdown Fort Worth for its work in bringing ESPN to downtown Fort Worth and organizing many of the events during Super Bowl XLV. Many fans braved the most severe winter storm in DFW history to take part in the live broadcasts and activities in Sundance Square. In all, more than 110 hours of ESPN television coverage was filmed in downtown Fort Worth.

The 2008 Dateline Award went to the Bell Helicopter Armed Forces Bowl as it catapulted Fort Worth into the national spotlight when General David H. Petraeus took the field for the coin toss and again during half-time when he was presented with the 2008 Great American Patriot Award for working tirelessly to make the United States a better and safer place for all of its citizens.

View Past Winners